The TIDA of NZ Travel Scholarship Awards

For dancers in the Under 10 age group and above

As of 2024 the winner will be awarded $3,000 to participate in a major championship.

It can only be won by a registered TIDA dancer.

Dancers are required to advise if they are not eligible for the scholarship prior to the Championships.

From 2019 a dancer can win the scholarship no more than twice but not in successive years.

The International Judges officiating at the NZ Irish Dancing Championships will select the Scholarship winner, and they are the sole Judges of this Award.

The award must be taken up in the year following the Award. In the event that the winner does not travel, within the year specified, the Award cannot be claimed.

This Award is to be made each year strictly on merit to the best eligible dancer in the opinion of the International Judges, and the winner must participate in the next World Championships, All Irelands, All Scotland's, Great Britain's, North American Nationals or the Australian International Oireachtas organised under the auspices of An Coimisiun Le Rinci Gaelacha.

Roll of Winners:image of scholarships from TIDA

2023 Claire Giles, Gregan Irish Dancers, Wellington
2022 Georgia May, Gregan Irish Dancers, Wellington
2021 No event due to Covid-19
2020 No event due to Covid-19
2019 Madeline Harvey, Connolly School, Auckland
2018 Annabelle Rouse, O'Neill School, Christchurch
2017 Kayleigh Wheeler, Scoil Rince Kay-Hallissey, Christchurch
2016 Charlotte Crean, O'Neill, Christchurch
2015 Ciara Walshe, Doyle Academy, Auckland
2014 Keely O'Grady, Doyle Academy, Auckland & Sinead Lee, O'Sullivan Fox, Auckland
2013 Mitchell O'Hara, Kay Hallissey, Christchurch & Charlotte Wright, Kildunne, Wellington
2012 Harry Bartlett, Doyle Academy, Auckland
2011 Lachlan Cassidy-Rowse, Kildunne, Wellington
2010 Lachlan Cassidy-Rowse, Kildunne, Wellington
2009 Hannah Shackley, O'Neill, Christchurch
2008 Chelsea Pratt, O'Sullivan, Auckland
2007 Johanna O'Brien, Kay-Hallissey, Auckland
2006 Jordan Hunter Connolly School, Auckland
2005 Lucy McArthur O'Neill School, Christchurch